Trailseeker Series #3 Grabouw SA XCM Champs results: Heyns, De Groot win

Gert Heyns and Robyn de Groot were crowned the South African cross-country marathon champions at the third Trailseeker event in Grabouw today.

Heyns and De Groot claimed the national jersey and title after finishing the 90km elite men’s and women’s race first.

Matthew Beers placed second in the men’s race and was followed home by Gawie Combrinck.

Second place in the women’s race went to Amy Beth McDougall, with Samantha Sanders in third.

Brett Chilcott took the spoils in the 70km men’s marathon when he finished in 3:29:30 ahead of Ignus Oosthuizen (3:33:25) and Lawrence von Gunten (3:34:09).

Theresa Ralph won the women’s event in 3:58:47 to beat Siska Van der Bijl (4:00:05) and Marisa van der Linde (4:20:23).

The 40km men’s half marathon was won by Luke Moir (1:40:08), followed by Tristan Nortje (1:40:53) and Wicus Breytenbach (1:42:37).

Tiffany Keep (1:58:44) led the women’s event home when she beat Frances Janse van Rensburg (2:06:39) and Chante Olivier (2:08:53).

View more results below.

Article By: In the Bunch

Photo: Gustav Klotz